Authentication of Documents

All documents which the applicant submits to the relevant office of the faculty or rectorate must be properly authenticated in accordance with the relevant international agreements (current list as of 8 October 2020). Please, see below what scenario applies in your case:

  • States with which the Czech Republic has signed a treaty of legal assistance – original documents are valid in the territory of contracting states without further authentication. Should the applicant present copies of such documents, they must be officially authenticated copies prepared by a Czech or foreign notary, at a Czech Diplomatic Mission abroad, or prepared via the Czech Point service.


List of states with which the Czech Republic has signed a treaty of legal assistance: Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Belgium, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Montenegro, France, Georgia, Yemen, Croatia, Korea (North Korea), Cuba, Cyprus, Kyrgyzstan, Hungary, North Macedonia, Moldova, Mongolia, Poland, Austria, Romania, Russian Federation, Greece, Slovakia, Slovenia, Serbia, Syria, Spain, Switzerland, Ukraine, Uzbekistan, Vietnam.


  • States that are signatory to a multilateral convention on the simplification of authentication of foreign public documents - CONVENTION ABOLISHING THE REQUIREMENT OF LEGALISATION FOR FOREIGN PUBLIC DOCUMENTS (Haag, 5. 10. 1961, published under No. 45/1999 Collection of International Agreements), hereinafter referred to as the “Convention de La Haye”.


A harmonised form of authentication of the authenticity of documents is determined for these states, an “Apostille”, as issued by the authorised body of the state in which the diploma was issued (“Apostille Authority”). A list of Apostille Authorities is available at the Hague Conference website at: (Authorities, per Convention, convention no. 12, direct link:


Documents from the following states must be authenticated in the form of an Apostille: Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Barbados, Belize, Bolivia, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Burundi, Cape Verde, Chile, Cook Islands, China - only Hong Kong and Macau (legalisation required from other territories in China), Denmark, Democratic Republic of Sao Tomé and Príncipe (from 15 July 2008), Dominica, Dominican Republic (authentication with Apostille Clause from 30 August 2009), Ecuador, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, territories pertaining to France (i.e. French Polynesia, French Territory of the Affars and Issas, Guadeloupe, Guyana, Comoro Islands, Martinique, New Caledonia, Reunion, Saint Pierre and Miquelon, Wallis and Futuna), Grenada (since 7 April 2002 – until that date administered under the United Kingdom), Guatemala, Honduras, India, Ireland, Iceland, Italy, Israel, Japan, South Africa, Kazakhstan, Colombia, Republic of Korea (South Korea), Kosovo, Costa Rica, Lesotho, Liberia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Latvia, Luxembourg, Malawi, Malta, Morocco, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Mexico, Monaco, Namibia, Nicaragua, Germany, Niue, Netherlands and its territories (i.e. Netherlands Antilles, Aruba), Norway, New Zealand, Oman, Panama, Paraguay, Philipines, Peru, Portugal, Salvador, Samoa, San Marino, Seychelles, Suriname, Saint Lucia, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Swaziland, Sweden, Tajikistan, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Uruguay, the USA and their territories (i.e. American Samoa, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, United States Virgin Islands, Great Britain and its territories (i.e. Jersey, the Bailiwick of Guernsey, Isle of Man, Anguilla, Bermuda, British Antarctic Territory, British Virgin Islands (British Virgins Islands), British Solomon Islands, Cayman Islands, Falkland Islands, Gibraltar, Montserrat, Saint Helena, South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands, Turks and Caicos Islands), Vanuatu and Venezuela.

Countries of the European Union, Norway, Iceland, United Kingdom, United States of America, Canada, Australia, and New Zealand

In these countries an Apostille for a document (superlegalization in the case of Canada) may be replaced with an officially authenticated copy of documents, provided that there will be concurrently accomplished requirements quoted under letters A and B:


  1. the foreign secondary or higher education institution sends to the relevant office of the faculty or rectorate a Transcript of Records or supplement to the diploma of the applicant in a sealed envelope. Prospectively the applicant presents the Transcript or supplement in an envelope properly sealed by the educational institution or
  2. the official website of the foreign secondary or higher education institution makes it possible to verify that the applicant is its graduate (for example, the possibility of downloading the applicant’s Transcript from the official website of the foreign secondary or higher education institution - after entering a password e.g.)


1. The study applicant sends to the relevant office of the faculty or rectorate a notarized copy of his/her high school leaving certificate or diploma from the secondary or higher educational institution, and concurrently,

2. secondary or higher educational institution issues a statement, verifying that this study applicant is its successful graduate.


  • Other statesdocuments on the completion of studies must be superlegalised. In superlegalisation, the authenticity of signatures and the impressions of stamps on original documents are authenticated:
  • by the ministry of foreign affairs of the state in which the secondary or higher education institution which issued the document has its registered office, or by the competent foreign body;
  • and also by the competent Diplomatic Mission of the Czech Republic.


The requirements placed on the presentation of duly authenticated documents shall have been met even in the case that the applicant presents officially authenticated copies of documents which are authenticated by that of the foregoing methods which apply to the documents which the applicant presents.


Další články v rubrice

English ☰ Menu

We use cookies on the web presentations of the Czech University of Life Sciences Prague (under the domain). These files give us ways to serve our services better and help us analyze site performance. We can share information about how you use our sites with our social media, advertising, and analytics partners. In the settings, you can choose which cookies we can use. You can change or revoke your consent at any time.